Should you delete your Browsing History?

Something you may not be aware of is that deleting your browsing history does not just keep your browsing history private.

You’ve probably noticed that when you visit a website you normally get a pop up saying that site uses Cookies and shows a Cookie Policy, but what are Cookies? Cookies or Browser Cookies are small files which are stored on your computer. They are designed to hold data specific to a particular client and website. Cookies build up alongside your browsing history causing your computer to slow down.

When you first visit a website, the pages you visit get saved onto your hard-drive. So when you visit the website a second time instead of re-downloading the pages it loads the website a lot faster.

This can be good if you want to look at a site quickly, but it can fill up a lot of space on your hard-drive. It also stores information about all the web pages you have visited. So what can you do?

  • Choose what history you delete. Browsers allow you to automatically schedule the deletion of your history, where it can either delete content every week to every month. This will allow you to free up space on your computer and stop it from slowing down.
  • Be careful what you delete. You don’t have to delete everything, particularly if you rely on your machine to save your passwords. You can choose not to delete this if you wish.
  • Think about whether you wish to clear cookies. Whilst they are tracking your web activity, they can be useful.

Our job is to keep your data and your network secure and this is just one in a series of emails to help you with this. If you would like to talk more about keeping your data safe simply click on the big blue button below!

Improve your Network Security

Posted in: IT Support, London
Comments are now closed